Stations of the Cross

Video Stream at 8pm

Video will be available on Thursday, April 9th at 7:55pm.

Maundy Thursday

This service begins the Triduum, the three-day period from sunset on Thursday to sunset on Easter Day. The name “Maundy Thursday” comes from the Latin mandatum novum, referring to the “new commandment” Jesus taught his disciples (John 13:34). In other words, this is “new commandment Thursday.” 

Tonight, we present a collection of music and art based on the Stations of the Cross. These “stations”, based on events leading to Jesus’ crucifixion, have been remembered for centuries, and have inspired countless works of art.

Musicians & Tech

Ryan Bowles (bass), Griffin Kale (guitars/vocals), Haven Sink (vocals), Charlie Swing (guitar), Michael Van Patter (keys/vocals), Mark Wingerter (drums).

Jason Windsor (filming/editing/mixing), Brent York (sound support), Michael Van Patter (editing).


All of the art for the program is by Scott Erickson

Song Credits

By His Wounds – Traditional American Folk Melody; words by Isaac Wardell (2011)

Refuse the Bait – words by Nelson Koscheski, adapted by Ryan Flanigan & David Moffit (2018) ; music by Ryan Flanigan & David Moffit (2018)

Go to Dark Gethsemane – words by James Montgomery (1825); music by Amos Pillsbury and Matt Grimsley (2017)

Ah! Holy Jesus – words by Johann Heermann (1630), translation by Robert Bridges (1897); music by Johann Crüger (1640).

The End – words by Nelson Koscheski (2018); music by Ryan Flanigan (2018)

The Cross Is Laid Upon Jesus – words by Isaac Watts (1707); music Brian T. Murphy (2011)

Jesus Falls – words by Charles Wesley (1763); ,music by Clint Wells (2011)

Must Jesus Bear the Cross Alone? – words by Thomas Shepherd (1693); music by Karl Digerness (2011)

Death Will Soon Disrobe Us All – words by John Leland (1772); music by Benj Pocta (2011)

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed – words by Isaac Watts (1707); music by Alex O’Nan and Brooks Ritter (2008)

It Is Finished, the Redeemer Said – words by Samuel Stennett (1787); music by Michael Van Patter (2011)

God Rested – Andrew Peterson (2018)